Singapore – 1 night stop before Myanmar!!!

In Singapore now for the night before I fly off to Myanmar early in the am tomorrow to meet Ly and Ukkamsa! So excited! I met the most wonderful lady from Singapore doing her PhD in Education on the plane from Auckland and we had some inspiring conversations about travel, education, and sustainability. She was kind enough to get me safely to my hostel! The hostel is in the heart of Muslim town, so this evening I heard the prayers from the mosque which were combined by the sweet smells of Turkish and Moroccan food emanating from the restaurants. Oh, how sweet it is to be back in SE Asia after a 10 year hiatus! It’s so lively here, with people on the street eating and enjoying each other’s company until the late hours. I’m convinced more and more everyday that the happiness derived from material goods can be replaced by positive interactions with people. Kind of an ironic statement considering I’m sitting here writing on my blog ­čÖé

Leave a Reply

